Horrifying

Horrify – to distress greatly; shock or dismay: She was horrified by the price of the house. 

That was what happened to me this afternoon. I was trying on bathing suits and I don’t know that the word horrify can full explain what it felt like to have myself surrounded by mirrors and being able to see myself from all angles. To start the experience was the realization that I am no longer a small, medium or large. I had to buy an extra large. I remember the days when my entire bathing suit was made of about a square foot of material. Now it is more like drapery. Getting the suit on took effort even though the store was air conditioned. It was a sweaty effort. Looking at myself squirming and wiggling, wogging and rearranging was a sight to behold. And then when I got the bathing suits on. meh Double meh. Not enough meh’s in the world to even describe the one that looked the best on me. I figured if I kept a cover-up on until just before I get in the water it will pass with the bare minimum standards. That being, it covers up my body enough to prevent me being arrested.

The fake woman looks better in this bathing suit that I do in mine. *sigh* That said, I have lost almost 5 pounds. I have been going to T.O.P.S. and headed in the right direction.

4163-Fat-Woman-Wearing-A-Pink-Bathing-Suit-And-Holding-A-Pink-Towel-Clipart

12 thoughts on “Horrifying

  1. Ouch. It is winter here – but I should go swimming again. Which means buying a swimsuit. And I am not brave enough.
    And worry that they will call Greenpeace to help the marooned whale when I do get back to the pool. As I must.

  2. Oh how I have missed your sense of humour, Birdie!
    Do what the gals say….drop your towel at the waters edge! Ha!
    Cheers!
    Linda :o)

  3. This is why I have a two drink minimum in the hot tub! LOL! It’s the lighting. That’s what I tell myself anyway.

  4. No one likes the way they look in bathing suits, because they are designed by people who want to make us feel like shit. I’m convinced of this.

  5. Yep. I have rolls of fat on my back and my tummy is becoming very round. Since January I’ve put on so much weight. My swimsuit style makes me wanna cry. Lol love the way you can laugh at all this. You are like a tonic! Xx

  6. Oh lord ( or is that “lard”!), I hear ya. I’ve hit XL this year too and I’m beyond fed up. This is the first summer my size and fat rolly bits have prevented me doing stuff. This is not good. I’m on vacation in Victoria right now, but when I get home, time to do something serious about it. I’ll be with you in spirit!!

Comments are closed.