We spent the morning in the garden today.   I pulled one large green garbage can of weeds.  And a lot of moss.  We lost a few plants over the winter because of the snow. One was a Carnation. It was rotted through. I cut it back to the ground so there may be hope for it but I doubt it.  I’m pretty sure a rose bush needs to go. It’s old and has never bloomed well. It gets a rose or two that the deer eat. Most of the weeds were easy to pull because the ground has been saturated but others have deep roots that go into a yard 3 neighborhoods over.  At least that is what it felt like.  Some of those weeds grow so quick. Maybe in a matter of seconds because I would just get an area completed and move onto a new section, look back and there were weeds in the previous spot. It is a mysterious thing. Anyway, the weeds are gone. For now. It’s not time to plant, there is still snow on the mountain but soon. At least I hope so.

We are making ribs tonight. I don’t think I have ever made ribs before. They are in the oven right now.  And we are watching Judge Judy. A young woman just said, “Me and him was together…”  I cringed. “He and I were together…”

Guess what? I work this week then next week I am on holidays. It’s only 5 days but I am really looking forward to having a break from work.  We are going here. It will likely be raining but that is to be expected.

Here is something.  I have blogged in the past about our  marriage troubles. I am happy to say over the last few months things have been improving greatly. We are communicating. We are spending a lot of time together.  Two things that can make or break a relationship. I look forward to coming home from work and my days off. He is being so thoughtful and going out of his way to do little things for me like making me breakfasts that I can take with me to work, making dinner and countless other small  and not so small things. Most nights we get naked and go into the hot tub together before bed. We hold hands when we go out. We do funny things that are private jokes between us.  For instance, he has this shirt that I absolutely hate. He got it for $1.99 at The Gap. It’s the ugliest yellow puce thing. My husband is quite fair and I tell him it makes him “look like he has the jaundice”.  So today I hid it. He hasn’t missed it yet. I’ve been threatening to hide it for awhile.  I will keep you updated.

And I’m pretty sure there was a spider in my hair for a good part of the afternoon that got in when I was outside because when I brushed my hair several hours after I found a little brown spider on my shirt.

11 thoughts on “

  1. Birdie, I would have cringed too if I had heard “Me and him was together.” LOL! And I love Judge Judy, I watch all the time. And I am glad to hear that things are looking up on the marriage front! Much love to you and warm hugs.

  2. Oh my gosh I am so often torn between wanting to correct peoples grammar and wanting to keep my friends, I too would have cringed. So happy to hear your marriage is coming along nicely, we are coming up 18 years marriage and I often say to people marriage like all relationships in life take time and work.
    PS love the new blog look

  3. I am thrilled to hear that you are doing better. You are a gem, and the more people who realise it the better.
    And yes, some weeds do have roots that spread to eternity and they all grow quicker than light. My father said ‘if it grows well it is a weed’ and he was right.
    Have a wonderful holiday.

  4. Wow, that was a great and happy post. I’m so glad to hear that things are going better for you in lots of important ways. Enjoy you time away with your loving and attentive husband, what a nice treat.!

  5. Oh my gosh. I finally figured out why the last 3 or 4 comments haven’t shown up. WordPress seems to shut you off every once in a while and make you enter you password again just to make sure you are alive .. hah. So finally I am back on and a happy girl!

  6. I gotta say that naked hot tub thing is pretty amazing Birdie! Sort of makes me wish we had one. Nice to hear about you guys doing better together. Marriage is all about hills and valleys isn’t it?? I wear gloves and boots and a scarf over my hair when I do my gardening. It used to make me feel fearless. Thanks for putting that spider possibility in my mind. lol My husband has a favorite shirt that is light tan. It makes him so washed out. I hate it. I have hidden it from him in the past too. Great minds think alike! And also, I detest Judge Judy.

Come, let us reason together... Isaiah 1:18 (Comment moderation is on.)

